HELP!! eliminating fields from a table

ruba

This topic is 6112 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a table with 20 fields. I want to eliminate 8 of them and add instead two fields to hold the data of the eliminated fields.

Say my fields are:

FirstName, LastName, PhoneNumber, Department1, Address_Dept1, Department2, Address_Dept2, Department3, Address_Dept3…

I want to delete Department1, Address_Dept1, Department2, Address_Dept2…and instead add only two fields: Department and set it to be a dropdown where the options/values would be Department1, Department2, Department3… and an Address field to hold the address.

This way data entry person can choose Department from the dropdown and put the address in the Address field.

My problem is that I need to write a script to be able to move the data from the fields to be eliminated and add it to the two new fields and don't know how to or even if it's easy to be done.

I'm still new to this and any help would really be much appreciated!!

Do any of the records have more than one field with data in it? IOW, does one record have data in more than one field of Dept1, Dept2? If so, which one do you want to keep or do you want to keep all of it?

If you want to keep all of it, you would do this by creating related tables to store the multiple addresses and departments for each contact. If there is only one entry for each record or you want to store only one, then you can write a one time script that with populate the 2 new fields with the data that you want.

I want to keep all the data. Just delete the multiple columns of departments and addresses and instead create 2 columns to put that data in.

Could that be done without creating multiple tables, i.e. in the same table?

Mr_vodka is right.

Move the data into less fields, into multiple related records in another table.

Fields:

ParentID; Department; Address