exporting 1 large field as a Ascii file with the extention .VCF

This topic is 3780 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a large calculated field that creates a vCard for my contacts that I want to export in an ascii format file with the extension .VCF.

Basically if I copy and past in a text editor and save as text with .VCf it works. I would like to remove a few of those steps.

It looks like the xml may be the answer but I have no experience with it at all

Thanks

Edited by Guest

A couple of methods. The basic problem is that Export Field Contents uses UTF-16, with no way to change it. This is all very well and future-oriented, but many (backward) applications do not yet understand it. First, you can just get a found set of only 1 record, then regular Export that.

A new window makes it easy to change the found set without messing up the current one. Lightweight method:

New Window

Show All Records

Omit Record

Show Omittted Only

Or you can use xml/xsl. But first I'd need to know what line endings you'd want, Mac old returns, Mac new line feeds, Windows return line feed. Also, why ASCII, why not UTF-8? If the receiving app will handle utf-8 it's a lot better than ASCII, especially if you have any high ASCII characters (accented, etc.).

How about a seperate table with one field for your export?

A simple loop could create the records for export.

Using the middleValues function you could extract 1 line from the calculatedd field each time and write to a new record in the seperate export table. Once you reach the ValueCount of the calculated field exit the loop and export the generated Export file records. I think this should result in a file that is the same as copying and pasting into your text editor.