Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Triggers for database update

This topic is 5914 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am new to filemaker and applescript tho i have some years experience in other databases.

I am looking for some way to trigger the execution of a script upon the addition of a record to a table - this record is added by a script which processes incoming emails and formats a new database record.

When each new record is added I need to use information in that record to update other database tables.

Where can I attach a script so that it will execute when a new record is added to the table? Where can I find a good scripting guide to help me build the script?

I need to use information in that record to update other database tables

I need to make sure you're aware that filemaker actually is an implementation of relational approaches, and it's "sacrilegiously" to think of synchronization?

--sd

yes, i am aware. i started work on relational databases in 1978.

when a new event record is added to the database I want to use that event as a trigger to calculate and write information to another table - to update information about the rate of events for a specific item, the current state of that item and so forth.

Why should it be updated, unstored fields only exhibit values when shown.

It would be beneficial to know what the fields/tables are in the two instances, an outline of what was supposed to be scripted ...too!

embed a calc field in one record which updates fields in another record...

No it's the other way round, you toss some data in one table and it gets morphed when presented in the other ...over the relation! Most commonly via an aggregate function, or a custom function involving:

http://www.filemaker.com/help/FunctionsRef-39.html

But there is more to it, the entire entity vs. attribute distinction might mislead you into thinking a script might be what's needed: