Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Opening & Printing Static Docs. with Word via FM?

This topic is 5746 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi all. I'm pretty new to Filemaker and am stuck on what may be a pretty easy problem. I'd posted this in another topic area a few days ago, but thought this section’s more appropriate.

I'm trying to get Filemaker (9 Advanced) to print documents in Microsoft Word for which I have a reference to the file stored in my Filemaker database (though I could change this set up to import the file, if needed). I'm trying to find a way to open multiple documents and print them with Word 2007 (OS, Vista). Ideally, I’d be able to do a find in the documents, insert page numbers in the footer, and print to Word 2003 (XP) & Word 2004 on a Mac (OS X Tiger), but… Other than the ideal solution of being able to add the page count in the footer, the documents are good-to-go as is (i.e. I don’t need to import data from any fields in my database, mail merge, etc..)

I can’t figure out how to open the documents and then print them without having to specify the exact file location for each document manually. Is there a way to create a script that can get any file path (which I have in a field) from my database, open that document, print it and then do the same process for each record in the found set with the Send Event and a VB script… or any other method? (I’d be glad to use something other than VB, since I’d have to learn how to use it, but am also happy to learn...)

I’ve searched through all of the Filemaker books and web sites/forums I can find and haven’t seen any solutions, so any advice is greatly appreciated!

Please do not double post. If you need a post moved to another section, just ask a moderator to move it. I have deleted your old post.