Server Maintenance This Week. ×

exporting text field from FM to xml, so CR and TAB eventually affect formatting in browser

Michael Soth

This topic is 5711 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm a total newbie, so sorry for asking a dumb question (I have searched and read for a few hours now and whilst my head is buzzing, I'm no further to a solution).

How do I export a text field, containing placeholders for CR and TAB, to XML so that when the xml gets pulled into the browser, they affect the actual formatting, i.e. the show up as indents and

?

I have read up about unicode, stylesheets etc, but I need a simple step-by-step intro.

Thanks so much for devoting time to answering this.

Browsers display HTML, not XML.

You can use the GetAsCSS() function to convert a text field to a form suitable for displaying in a browser. This will preserve most of the text's formatting, including converting carriage-returns (real ones, not "placeholders", whatever they might be) to

tags.

I don't know of an HTML equivalent for a tab.

What exactly are you hoping to achieve here?

• Newbies

Thanks very much for that answer - I'm not sure, though, how to access that function GetAsCSS(). Is that in FileMaker (couldn't find it in version 6)?

What I'm trying to achieve: I maintain a database of courses - people email me formatted blurbs for workshops which I paste into a textfield 'blurb'. I exchange the TAB and CR in the text I receive into placeholders. I would like those blurbs to appear later on the webpage with line breaks and indents, as sent to me.

I used to do the job of constructing the webpage manually, but I have now cottoned onto doing it via XML. Does that make sense ?

The database of courses gets exported to InDesign for a printed brochure, and it gets exported also for the web. If I could just export it to XML, the webpage showing all our courses would be so much easier to build and maintain.