Sending emails with a pdf of a record usings server 9

UpNorth

This topic is 5600 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I just moved over my database from hosting on a client to fm server 9. I'm just learning about some of the new possibilities, which brings up my question. How or can I have filemaker server automatically send out emails with a pdf attached of a record.... and can I email filemaker and have it create a new record with the contents of the email?

Thanks you very much for your time!

Currently, FMS does not give the ability to email directly. You will need a email plugin. We use 360 Works. Furthermore, if you are trying to automate the process of creating the PDF using FMS, it will not work as well.

• 1 month later...

Help.... I have the plug-in in my external functions but how do I make it send an email??? This is the first time I've used a plugin.

Here is the plugin

SendEmailWithAuthentication( from ; to ; subject ; htmlBody ; attachmentPath ; smtpHost ; username ; password )

I have to enter it as a field, so how does it or can it send an email??

Thanks! :

Edited by Guest

Is this 360 Works?

Most plugins use the Set Field script step and set a global field, gResults, typically.

Like this:

Set Field(gResults; SendEmailWithAuthentication( from ; to ; subject ; htmlBody ; attachmentPath ; smtpHost ; username ; password )

where from = field that contains your "from" email address

to = field that contains the "to" email address

etc.

attachmentPath = usually I Set a Variable to the attachment path and use the $variable here

smtpHost = usually I have this set to a global field in the open script where I "publish" all my prefs to globals.

username = same as above.

password = same as above.

Then, gResults will typically = 0 if the email is sent without error.