Setting find parameters to automatically run reports

This topic is 5605 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

My employer has asked me to create a database for his entire business. I have no prior experience with FM, and now I've hit a wall in my database creation.

I currently have one database with three tables: Employees, Departments, and Time Cards. I have these three tables functioning in the ways I expect; however, I need to create a button to run a report based on data found in the Time Cards Records. There are three fields that I have to match when I run each report, but the value in each field will change from one report to the next. These fields are as follows: DeptType, EmpCode, and PayPeriod. I have set up a box of tabs in the report layout to specify which value I am searching in these three fields.

Here is the problem: I need for this button (with script attached) to take the information I have put in the three fields and pull up all those specific records that match all three criteria without writing a seperate script for each possible value that could be in the three fields.

Can anyone help me?!

Not sure if this is what you want but.......

Script:

enter find mode - do not pause

show custom dialog - click on the input fields and add the 3 fields

preform find

:?:)? what'cha ya think ?????????

You'll have to enter the criteria poss. each time. maybe not but I'm working on my own thingy....

Welcome to FM Forums, Rex.

I don't know what you mean by "a box of tabs," but the general form of a Find in a script is as Cabinetman noted:

Enter Find mode

Set Field( someField ; someCriteria )

Perform Find

Note that when you enter Find and perform Find you do NOT specify any criteria: that is handled by the Set Field step.