Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Question about auto serial field

Chrissy10

This topic is 4835 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Newbie here need help please

I set a job ticket up in fmpro advanced 11

I have several sales people in my office and want to set my job number field so that when the sales rep picks their name from the “sales rep field” it will auto enter their next job number. Each rep has their own series of numbers. I would like to do this so we do not end up with duplicate job numbers.

My question is: Can this be done and can someone lead me in the right direction.

Thank You in Advance for your help

Newbie here need help please

I set a job ticket up in fmpro advanced 11

I have several sales people in my office and want to set my job number field so that when the sales rep picks their name from the “sales rep field” it will auto enter their next job number. Each rep has their own series of numbers. I would like to do this so we do not end up with duplicate job numbers.

My question is: Can this be done and can someone lead me in the right direction.

Thank You in Advance for your help

You need to create a table for the sales reps. Suggested fields might be: RepID, FirstName, LastName, NextJobNumber

If you don't want two names then just make a field called name.

Then when you issue a new job ticket the script would see who the sales rep is, go to that rep in the sales rep table, set the NextJobNumber field to itself to lock the record, set $TicketNumber (a variable) to the NextJobNumber value, then set NextJobNumber to NextJobNumber+1, go back to the job ticket layout and set the job ticket number to $TicketNumber. Try that.

"I want to set my job number field so that when the sales rep picks their name from the “sales rep field” it will auto enter their next job number. "

This doesn't sound good. I have questions about your workflow.