Having trouble with relationships

This topic is 4795 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi everyone,

I'm a real newb when it comes to using Filemaker Pro Advanced 8 and I have a little problem.

I want to show a dropdown menu on some lay-outs which shows records from other tables.

The problem is that when I'm trying to use value lists I can only use 1 or 2 tables to show the records from.

So my problem is that I'm trying to create a field with a dropdown menu that shows records of several different tables.

I have one table called "inbetween" with all the nessecary values for this.

Those values are:

User Name

License Number

Computer Name

Serial Number

I have a lot of other tables who need to have a relationship to this one.

Here are the tables that I currently have

(I'm only showing the fields that need a relation to the "inbetween" table):

Server:

Serial Number

User Name

Server Name

Headphone:

User Name

Printer:

User Name

Webcam:

User Name

Desktop:

Serial Number

User Name

Desktop Name

Phone:

User Name

Laptop:

Serial Number

User Name

Laptop Name

Monitor:

User Name

Mouse:

User Name

Keyboard:

User Name

Speaker:

User Name

Microphone:

User Name

Scanner:

User Name

Serial Number:

Value

License:

Value

Applications:

Computer Name

License

Operating Systems:

Computer Name

License

Users:

User Name

So what I'm trying to do is:

Make sure that the field of table "Users" is related to the User Name in "inbetween"

Then I want to make a relation for all other tables with User Name and also relate them to "inbetween"

Now when I want to show the value User Name in a field it should show all names of the values from the table "Users" in a dropdownlist.

(Yes I know I can use value lists, but the problem is that I want to also do this for more then 2 tables...)

Now "Laptop Name" from "Laptop" should be related to "Computer Name" from "inbetween"