Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Separating interface and data

This topic is 4688 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, while I'm new to FM, I am experienced in "older" database programming. So "only" the interface is new to me.

I've written an application and we could start data entry. As I will keep on developing the interface, I need a (easy:) way to update the application while keeping the existing data intact after.

From my research, it looks like I should separate my interface files and data files. But by now I have 48 tables in my application with many more TOs and relationships. So I looked if I could copy the whole file and relink the interface from one application to the databases of the other. While I can import the other "external" databases, that leaves me without relations on the new files, and the existing application remains on the "original" databases with all the layouts linked to the wrong (original) files.

Is there a good way of separating the two, or do I have to start back from scratch, which would be discouraging after this much work.

Or,... Keeping both data and interface in one file, can any one get me going on a script that would allow the data-update from the "old" file? I hear its all about "copy all data from old file to new file" and "update the counters for automatic field entry". Any more pitfalls I need to be aware of?

Thanks,

Stefan

Or,... Keeping both data and interface in one file, can any one get me going on a script that would allow the data-update from the "old" file? I hear its all about "copy all data from old file to new file" and "update the counters for automatic field entry". Any more pitfalls I need to be aware of?