Server Maintenance This Week. ×

fmp knowledge

ventinc

This topic is 8279 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I run a service business and have been using Filemaker Pro as our db program for the last 3 years. I have done 95% of the work on our db's and have a great basic understanding of the program. However our db's are disaster and will require a lot of hours of work. I am wondering if anyone can give me advice on some tools to help me develop our program myself or further my knowledge. Is it a better idea to pay someone to do some of the more complicated funtions? Is it possible to be self taught and very up to date on fmp? I should say also I love filemaker and get so excited about making our business run better. I would love to help other people make their businesses run better too. (I have no formal computer training.)What does it take?

This is a tough one. So much depends upon the individual. Most of the better professionals in the FM world have some level of background in science, mathematics, computer science, or engineering. Kind of the prototype for a good consultant is:

1) math/science backgound

2) 5 years of small business experience

3) Some formal FM classes

4) 1 year of working with clients on out-of-house solutions

This is not to say that it can't be done without all of these elements, but the odds against you grow with each omission. In your positions I would certainly consider classes, especially if you will omit 1).

As to your in-house effort. The most important involvement for an outside consultant is at the beginning. It's like building a house. I you do the plans not to code and are 90% through construction and bring in a professional architect to consult on paint colors...oh, well. You need the profession when you structure the files for your solution.