Server Maintenance This Week. ×

SuperContainer on FM pro 11 Advanced

This topic is 4181 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a newbie at this, so my question might be silly.

I have been trying for hours to get the demo for Supercontainer to work on my computer (no network here).

I can get it to run, but unable to access it properly with FM pro 11 webviewer.

Instructions seem simple, but could it be that you must have FM Pro server and I only have Advanced?

If I put this in my webviewer  "http://127.0.0.1:8020/SuperContainer/"    I see the server, but I end up with uploading the same file for all my records.

Instructions stipulate I must have this: "http://127.0.0.1:8020/SuperContainer/Files/"     but I get error 404 ''resource not available''

I tried moving it elsewhere, creating new paths, trial and error, but I'm not getting anywhere. 

Also, the server has this path by default: C:UsersSuperContainerFiles

If i try another path and restart it, it will always revert to its default path. Is this normal behavior?

Does all this require more experience and knowledge than what I have?

Follow up on my own topic.

I finally made it work. However, whenever I upload a file, it creates a new folder and puts a copy of the file in it.

Good for a backup of everything, but if the original file is modified, it won't reflect the changes in Filemaker as only the copy will show.

Is there a way to change this to a simple link to the original file? I'm trying to build a document management application and this is not very useful.

The filemaker demo they provide also did the very same thing on my computer ....

This is exactly how SuperContainer works you are only ever copying files in to a known directory path. In fact the name of the file is irrelevant as the plugin and server side engine resolves to the parent folder name, usually equal to the serial ID Or UUID of the record you are on.