Value list trouble

Miami553

This topic is 4116 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello....I am totally new to File maker coming over from ACCESS...I see that there are some things that are close to each other.

Well im having trouble getting the value lists to show what I need...not sure where to go..

what i have is this.

table LIfts:          LIft_ID                   Lift                        Lift Classification

1                 Bench Press                Horizontal push             

2                 Incline Press                Horizontal Push

3                 Power clean                 Explosive

4                 Squat                           Knee

And so on for 100 plus lifts...

Now each spot in the work out layout has a certain  lift class like explosive is all ways lift one..

How do i create different value list to contain only that classification,  

like a value list for Explosive lifts, knee lifts etc

I have one other table that is classifications which has    classification_ID, classification

classification_ID                     Classification

1                                       Explosive

2                                       Knee

3                                       Horizontal push

and so on

Thanks for any and all help while i'm learning

Greg

I could be totally wrong... but the way you are asking your question is difficult to understand, but it sounds to me that you need to investigate "relationships." This has a huge impact between databases and value lists. 

For example...

If you choose this option... only these values show.

• Newbies

Maybe i can clear up a little.. Here are the two tables that i have.

In the layout for table lifts you Type in the lift name and then choose the classification via drop down.

Now i have another table/layout which designs the work outs ( right side )