Using a Value List to Filter / Goto a Record

This topic is 4015 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi All,

I'm new to FM Forums so I hope i'm following all the correct rules and procedures of the site.

My Question: -

I'm an experienced Microsoft Access User and on a form you can add a 'Combo Box' or 'List Box' that will list all the records for that single form and when one is selected will take you straight to that record. I suppose in a way it's acting like a filter without the need to scroll through all the records on the form individually.

I've recently just purchased Filemaker 12 as required to develop a database for web use and trying to do a similar thing with a 'drop down list' on a layout.  i.e My table is called 'Primary Schools Directory', a layout has been created for this table and i have placed a 'drop down list' on the layout that lists all the records in the table/layout. I just want now to be able to select one of those records and it takes me straight to the record on the layout.  I don't want to do it via a portal, I understand how these work.

I have purchased the books 'FileMaker 12 Developer Reference' & 'FileMaker Pro 12 The Missing Manual' and so whilst I have a feeling it has somethig to do with 'Script Triggers' and 'Goto Record', after lots of reading and trying various scripts I just can't figure it out.

Please can anybody help?

Kind Regards

Steve 

A Script Trigger will do the trick - use OnObjectExit.

The script should use the drop down selection as a Script Parameter (you specify the field name as the script parameter), roughly:

Enter Find Mode

Set field <YourSearchField> = Get(ScriptParamter)

Perform Find

Please note that Script Triggers work differently on web enabled FileMaker to the way they do in the client and this technique won't work in Instant Web Publishing.

Hello Steve,