If statement for assigning the serial#

This topic is 3543 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi everybody,

I am new to both filemaker and this forum, so i hope i have posted this topic in the right place.

I am building my first ERP system, and things are going well, but now i have reached a point where i need some help.

The task for my system:

I have 2 'independent' tables: Orders & BankTransfers. And i would like to assign the bank transfers which have the same payment amount as the orders, so that i can see the differences between the bank account transfers and the data in my ERP system.

So I would like to assign / connect orders which have certain criterias, with bank transfers that matches these criterias. Theese criterias would be the 'date' field and the 'amount' field, so that if these two fields match, in each of the two tables, a 3rd field(PaymentControl) in BankTransfers will be positive(1), and if not, negative(0).

So i figured to create this 3rd field as a calculation with an if-statement:

If ( Amount = BankTransfers::Amount; "1" ; "0" )

I would guess that if i want it to check if the date also matches, i just need to put an '& BankTransfers::Date = Orders::Date' after the amount-test. Is that correct?

But this calculation does not work - what am i doing wrong?? 

I've uploaded some  screenshots:

Orders table

post-111610-0-63649400-1406799824_thumb.

BankTransfers table

post-111610-0-51852600-1406799849_thumb.

Relationship settings

post-111610-0-59272300-1406799882_thumb.

Orders field settings

post-111610-0-33644200-1406799911_thumb.

BankTransfers field settings

post-111610-0-28265300-1406799941_thumb.

Thank you,

Mike

You're trying to read values via a relationship that you want to set, based on these criteria, in the first place – that just cannot work.