need help with a script

This topic is 2995 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi guys, 

I am new to filemaker, I have managed to create a database following some tutorials but now I have encountered a problem I am unable to solve. I think the problem is mainly in the script. Because I really need this done fast I will transfer the first person that can solve it 30 euros. 

I am doing a research on flamingos in zoos. I have used two portals in the layout: one zoo can have multiple enclosures and each enclosure can hold multiple species of flamingos (see attachments). In the layout view this is working great, but I need it to work in the tableview so I can export the data. The problem in the tableview is that the EnclosureID used in the flamingo table and in the enclosure table are not the same (in the screenshot the first enclosureID is in the flamingo table, but is not related to any enclosure or zoo data). In the tableview screenshot you can see a record of one zoo, for which all the data is filled in in the layout but only for one flamingo in the table. For every zoo there is only one real enclosureID generated for the enclosure that is selected on that moment. For some reason it saves only the first enclosure you fill in, when you select the second enclosure it shows the right data in the layout view but in the table view it shows the data of the first enclosure, besides that the enclosureID and all the related data disappears for the first enclosure that is then no longer selected.

I am using the following script for the select button:

Set Field [Zoo:SelectedEnclosure; Enclosure::EnclosureID]

Commit Records/Requests [No Dialog]

I would be really, really grateful if someone can fix it, I am getting a bit desperate haha. Please let me know if you need any additional information. 

Greetings,

Tobias

Layoutview.PNG

Relations.PNG

Tableview.PNG

Let me start with this:

20 minutes ago, Vliet057 said: