Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Backing up

This topic is 7957 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

In light of my recent tragedy, I have been re-thinking my backup method.

Right now, I have a script that runs at closing to save a copy of the file to a backup folder. The thing is that this folder is only cleaned out by users arbitrarily, and it can become quite large if they have not cleaned it out for a while.

I am sure that you guys have dealt with this and have much more experience at backing up solutions. Your methods and thoughts are greatly appreciated and should benefit everyone, including me.

Ken

Yes, I should probably elaborate.

This is a single-user marketing program that would house a maximum of about 1500 records. The importance I think really is up to the users, but if I was an agent I would rate its importance at about 7 on a scale of 1 to 10. I know that other databases that I have worked with in mult-user environments, we have servers with RAID configs and tape backups that are about as effective as it gets. But I do not have to administer in this case.

Thanks

Ken

Here's how I dealt with backing up: I have a single user kiosk solution for very inexperienced users. Rather than give them the option to backup, which I know they won't exercise, I play paternalistic. Whenever they exit, I automatically backup all files to a Backup Folder. These files are automatically zipped by a routine I wrote in WinBatch so they don't take up much room. The solution will never have over 10,000 records so the zipping is very quick. On the exit screen, I also give them an option of backing up to a removeable drive like a Zip or Jazz (also thru WinBatch): all they have to supply is a drive letter. While we all know hard drives rarely explode, it's really small insurance. The net is, the easier I can make it for them, the more likely it will get done.