Join Tables in Anchor-Buoy

This topic is 1208 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello, 

I need help please as I am new to the Anchor-Buoy using the following concept:

I have a base table [PATIENTS] and would like to connect it to [STATUS], [DOCTORS], [TESTS], [TREATMENTS]...etc

I looking to track the BOUYS Tables changes with time e.g. 

(A) Track the start/end dates/times of any [STATUS] changes of the patient --> becoming INPATIENT or OUTPATIENT or DISCHARGED

(B) Track the start/end dates/times of [DOCTORS] interactions with [PATIENTS]

...etc

1) I figured a join-table is the approach to capture this data, is this correct? or is there a better way?

2) Using the anchor-Buoy method, how do I use a join table? is it ONE JOIN TABLE for all [ANCHOR-JOIN-Buoys]  or each Buoy gets its own JOIN table? I have also read about CONNECTOR-SELECTOR method.

Please advise me about the best approach.

Thank you

Edited by Amanco

For (A) - What is the purpose of the STATUS table?  Is that to record when the status changes, for a particular patient?  In that case you don't need a join table between STATUS and PATIENTS.

For (B): look for the nouns in that sentence.  Feels like you need a table called INTERACTIONS.  Or perhaps you have another table already tagged for that but call it differently?

You may be overthinking the "join table" bit.   You'd typically only need a join table to accommodate a many-to-many relationship.  For instance if one patient can have multiple tests but one test covers multiple patients (unlikely - but you get the drift).

The only place in your narrative where I see a join table potentially are the interactions, if one interaction is with multiple patients at the same time.