Problem with "set next serial value"

Murph

This topic is 1167 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi everyone,

I am trying to make a database for my analogue/film photography with FMP19.

In my ERD I have a “MediumBatch” (parent) and a related “Exposures” (child) table.

A MediumBatch record can be a single 4x5 or 8x10 film sheet (hence 1 single exposure) but also a 6x6 film roll (roughly 10 exposures) or a 35mm film roll (24 or 36 exposures).

I have a Get( UUID ) primary key in both the parent and the child table.

I also have an auto-enter serial number for the MediumBatch table (I need it in order to match it to my paper database). I also need a serial number for the Exposures table.

When I create a new Exposures record in the MediumBatch table via the parent-child relationship the auto-enter serial number should reset starting from 1 if the related MediumBatch record has no Exposures. I use a portal in the MediumBatch table to check for the number of exposures.

I assign manually the number of exposures to each MediumBacth record in the field “MediumBatch_Exposures”. I have a “Count (Exposures)” field and I have assigned a script (If Count (Exposures) < MediumBacth_Exposures…) to the button that create a new exposure so that the number of exposures that I can create for each single MediumBatch record is automatically limited by the number of exposures that I have originally assigned to it.

I have tried to use the “set next serial value” script but clearly not in the right way.

I hope this is not too confusing.

Can someone be so kind to explain me (possibly step by step, I am very amateurish with FM) how to solve this? Am I on the right path?

Thanks for all the help in advance