Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Wanted to use DisplayID on layout but need UUID in the relationship

Spidey

Hi,

I am new to UUID in FileMaker.   In the past, I used serial numbers as my primary key, but now I want to use UUID as my primary key.  However, in the layout I want to create a display ID and retrieve other information because UUID is too long and unusable.  

How can I use UUID in the relationship, and use display id to retrieve the information from another table.  Thanks.

KC

1ToManyRelationship.fmp12

So what is the point of using UUID?

You cannot use a value to to retrieve information from another table unless the same value is stored in (some) records of the other table. In your example, the customer's orders would also have to store the customer's display ID and you would need (another?) relationship matching the two. So again, what is the point of having UUIDs if you find them unusable? 

The scenario is for the files to be in two iPads and need to be imported to the main file in the server.   And also for displaying a readable id for layout.  

Thanks so much for your reply.

KC

Edited by Spidey

You can display the readable ID on both layouts. You just cannot use it to retrieve information from another table - nor should you need to.

Note that if the readable ID is a serial number, then it must be assigned only when importing the records into the main file. So if you have a sales person in the field collecting new customers and taking their orders, the new customer will not know their ID until the sales person has returned and the collected data has been imported. 

Yes I would agree in this sort of thing one database would have to be the source of truth to generate such a value to verify uniqueness.

I am using something sort of like this to send a link to a user to their invoice, makes the url shorter to keep our SMS messages terse.

34 minutes ago, Ocean West said:

one database would have to be the source