Wrap around ellipsis (...)

Hey folks, I'm still rather new to FMP and this one is a little tough to put together. I created a field within a portal and it does what it's suppose to. All I'm trying to do is add is an ellipsis (...) once the word hits the end of the field and wraps around. Once I click on the field I can actually see all of its info. Click out of the field and it returns back to the ellipsis towards the end of the field. Any help would really be appreciated. Thanks so much.

There are probably more and better ways to "skin the cat" - but I would put a popover button, with the dots upon. This button is then hidden with a calc when a char count doesn't exceeds a certain number. Then the popover would show the fields values in it's entiety...

--sd 

Hi sd, Thanks for the recommendation. Although I appreciate your way of doing this, of which I will definitely try, is it also possible of doing this the way I had envisioned? I'm just trying different variations. I just don't know how to create it your way or even mine. Thanks!

3 minutes ago, Christoph said:

Hi sd, Thanks for the recommendation. Although I appreciate your way of doing this, of which I will definitely try, is it also possible of doing this the way I had envisioned? I'm just trying different variations. I just don't know how to create it your way or even mine. Thanks!

Try to watch this video: 

1 hour ago, Christoph said:

is it also possible of doing this the way I had envisioned?

No, it is not.

First, a field will not show an ellipsis unless it actually contains an ellipsis. Even more problematic: it is not possible to determine reliably if a field contains more text than it shows by calculation alone - unless your field is formatted to display in a monospaced font. What Søren suggested can easily produce a false result when the number of characters is somewhere around the set limit.