web security db and -find

This topic is 8096 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm having a problem with the web security database. I didn't know it existed until an hour ago, so I'm new to it.

Web Security DB is set up as:

All Databases

All Users (no password): Browse Create Edit

Field name "sodsc": Exact Search

There is no security set up on the database called "PROJECTS.FP5" which is the one I'm working on now.

The URL that I'm using is:

http://xxxxxxxxxx:591/projects/FMPro?-db=PROJECTS.FP5&-format=search_results.html&-lay=Project&-Error=search_results.html&sodsc=EP9D43o5iQ5L&-find=

I get a javascript pop up returned that says:

Access Restriction:

You do not have access privileges to perform the action: find

There is at least one record in the PROJECTS.FP5 database that has the field sodsc equal to EP9D43o5iQ5L.

For the record, I'm using FMP 5.5 on a Win2k box running IIS. I'm using custom web publishing, security is set to use the web security database.

Why am I getting this error?

Thanks for your help,

Carrie

First, All Databases should be deleted.

Next, create a new record project.fp5 and set your permissions.

Also, you may want to visit the FileMaker site and find (and read) the .pdf document on Web Security. It is sort of interesting to a FM developer.

Also you need to be aware of the problems associated with a single-threaded ScriptMaker engine encountering near-simultaneous requests over the mutli-threaded www. If you do not take precautions in this regard you may find that data gets lostg while a client gets mis-informed. This issue has been widely discussed on the Internet forums over the past year. Do not dismiss this as unlikely to occur.