Server Maintenance This Week. ×

FMP5.5 and UltraDev? - Newbie!

This topic is 7994 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm very new to FMP5.5 but am very interested in using it with Dreamweaver UltraDev 4. Does anybody have experience using both of these together? Can somebody point some info to me on where to start for this? I have FMP5.5 for OS X and UltraDev 4 for OS 9.2.

Truthfully, I use ASP pages at work in FP2000 with Access 2000 database, but, that is not what I have available at home (on my Mac!). Thanks!

I don't thing so.

Get the CDML syntax file from FM site and you'll find that nothing is simpler, than CDML language.

code:

Return field data using an HTML file

First Name: [FMP-Field: First Name]

<!-- After processing it could look like:

First Name: John

-->

• Newbies

Anatoli,

Thanks for the info, but I need you to go back a step for me. I'm still inexperienced with FMPro. What I need to understand is if I've already created a FMPro database on the Mac and I go to use the info in UltraDev, how do I connect to the database using the CDML language? UltraDev asks to use a .asp, .jsp, or .cfm connection for the whole site. Where does CDML come into this? Could you explain a little? Thanks!

Just for testing the setup, do sharing via WebCompanion and try first Instant Publishing. If that works, forget about instant and start with Custom publishing via CDML.

Try to get old sample files from version FM 4.

And yes, ultradev is for nothing, unless you want to go really slow.

• 3 months later...
  • Newbies

In short, keep UltraDev, and throw FMP out the window. If it's a data-driven site you want to build, then there is nothing that even comes close to Ultradev (except maybe DW-MX wink.gif ). However, if you plan on making an ODBC connection (to use VBscript or ASP for example) then you might as well ditch FMP. Even if you can get it to work (and after much effort, I still cant!) it is so slow as to be unusable.