Running Scripts online

This topic is 8464 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Yes, you need to use custom web publishing. Yes you use the cdml tag -script, among others.

Some people suggest you should avoid scripts. I suggest that you must be very careful in their structure and timing inregard to both database(s) and -format/-error results.

If you would like a practical demonstration including the successful use of scripts, see my posting under cdml from Jan 11 regarding a demonstration. It can help you get past the learning curve.

Peace

Keith M. Davie

quote:

Originally posted by rooroo9:

I'm new to web publishing and have a databse with scripts in it. When i publish online the scripts don't run. Do i need to use CDML for this? If so is there any easy way to make scripts run? Thanks

Scripts are not for web.

Do everything in calculating fields.

If the script is running more than 0.5-1sec, and another visitor will ask for script you will experience big problems.

The WebCompanion is in fact single user as is its engine.

Anatloi, Thank you for the heads up on the problem with multi-users and the -script tag. I am now very aware of the problem.

So is FileMaker. I have used my free Tech. question with them on this. The feeling I got was they were totally unaware of this problem. They are now fully aware of the problem. I sent them a format file/db solution with clear instructions on how to view the conflict (1) when the same script is accessed near simultaneously and (2) when two different scripts are accessed near simultaneously. I was advised that they followed my instructions and were able to view the problem.

Nowhere in their literature is there a caveat about the use of the cdml tag "-script". If they cannot provide a fix, I imagine we will need to see the demise of that tag as well as "-script.presort" and "-script.prefind".

Any site which currently is using -script in conjunction with ScriptMaker