Export text to, eg. DTP

This topic is 7270 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a bit new to databases but I'm very confused about this. I can make simple reports but I need to export lists of names (formlists; I'm a teacher) to an indesign document.

I can't seem to just 'select' text across cells in a table or report like one does in excel (why not, it seems so fundamental?). The export text feature is longwinded if I want to quickly access 10 different classes and if I do the whole lot at once (grouped by class) there's no way to tell where one class ends and another starts. The only solution I've got is to export a report as a .pdf file (via Mac OS X) then select classes from there.

Any help for a database newby would be appreciated!

FileMaker Version: 7

Platform: Mac OS X Panther

Welcome to FileMaker Forums!

Filemaker doesn't have a way to select multiple fields for copying. IMHO this isn't as useful in a database as it is in Excel.

Export works on the Found Set. Are the reports based on finds or based on portals? If they're based on finds (Found sets), an Export button could be added to the layout to do the export. If you script an export, it isn't as long-winded and annoying as usual.

FileMaker exports in various formats, which will work best with InDesign will depend on how much you want to do the formatting. The more you want to format, the more I'd recommend a plain text tab delimited export.

Does this help?

Filemaker doesn't have a way to select multiple fields for copying. IMHO this isn't as useful in a database as it is in Excel.

Not a true statement.

I use the Script Step "Copy All Records" in a couple of my solutions, The Script will copy all of the data in the all of the fields on whatever layout you choose.

Lee

laugh.gif