Adding Additonal Subsummary Part & Calc?

stealth162

This topic is 7001 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a database consisting of many records and layouts. One of my layouts that I use for printing has a subsummary part. Each Record in the database has a number ie; 1m1, 1m3, 2m1, 2m2. When I go to this layout for printing which has the subsummary part it puts a heading over the records in that series. ie; Group 1: followed by records 1m1, 1m2; Group 2: followed by records 2m1,2m2. The group number is derived from the first number of the record.

What I'd like to do is add another piece of data to that sub summary. For each group there is a version number that the user manually enters on a different layout. I'd like to have a calc that reads which group number is in the sub summary and then displays the corresponding version next to it.

I'm new to filemaker. Not sure if this is really simple or quite difficult. I'm guessing the previous and just that I don't know how.

So I have made a little headway on my own...I think. I created a new field called "Reel Versions" and put the following calc into it:

Case ( Reel = 1 ; Reel 1 Version ;

Reel = 2 ; Reel 2 Version ;

Reel = 3 ; Reel 3 Version ;

Reel = 4 ; Reel 4 Version ;

Reel = 5 ; Reel 5 Version ;

Reel = 6 ; Reel 6 Version ;

Reel = 7 ; Reel 7 Version ;

Reel = 8 ; Reel 8 Version ;

Reel = 9 ; Reel 9 Version ;

Reel = 10 ; Reel 10 Version ;

"none" )

The idea is that it reads the number that is already retrieved and displayed in the subsummary part. (ie; Reel Number). So in theory it would read that number and then if it equals a number (1-10) that new field will display the appropriate version in the subsummary part. With the calc as it is I am able to retrieve the version for the first Reel (or group of records) then when it goes on to Reel 2 and 3 etc. it retrieves nothing.

Anyone know what I'm missing?