I have a newbie question

Nickrez

This topic is 6675 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi, I'm just getting into fmp. I have a database started for my company...it's basically a contact database...names, #'s, emails, URLs, etc. etc.

All this info is in one main table.

I want to change the layout, so, for each company or contact, there's a new table that exists, where I can enter all information following an actual contact....e.g. date of contact, who I spoke to, what was talked about. I guess I'm getting confused, because there are going to be multiple contacts for some of these original records. I can't figure out a way to logically connect this to the original table, because of the instance of multiple contacts.

Do I need to create a whole new table for each original contact (or record), or can I make a new table that will just contain the information individually for each record. I think I'm lacking some understanding of table relationship, and I'm wondering if anyone has a simple way of describing how I would do this. I apologize if this is a ridiculous question, but like I said, I'm NEW. :

It is called a one to many relationship. open the sample file

You have clients A,B,C,D

Client A has contact 5,6,7

Client B has contact 1

Client D has contact 2,3,4

Make a table for clients

Make a table for contacts and create a relationship between clientid (this is also know as primary and foreign key)

Also search for "one to many relationship" on the forum and on google.com.

Notice that the contact layout shows the clients name as a,b,c,d. This is taken from the other table. Try this. Change client 1 name from A to E and look back at the contact list. Contact 5,6,7 should now show E as the client name.

many.fp7.zip

So, I've been trying to figure this out for quite some time....I think a big problem I'm having is understanding what to relate and how to display it.