Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

WEIRD.... Recovery Process MAGIC

This topic is 5763 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have been trying to fix a larg complex database, that I have been building for 5 years (74 tables, up to a 120 fields each). and somehow, seems to be unstable after I moved to Vista and FM9.

Here is what happens.

After I do a File Recovery, it appears that FM 9, which creates a "Recovered Library" Table, and a "Recovered Blob" Container Field, comes up with about 42 records each time. and after about 100 trial of Recovery, after manipulating/deleting tables and fields, I discovered that these recovered Records, are some how container fields, that I have deleted in the past, and FM is now recreating them.

For instance, if I have a Repeating Container Field (Global), and I delete it today. When I do a recovery FM9 seems to create records with each seperate container repetetion.

Does anyone have info, on what FM9 does when creating this Recovery Library, and its blob.

Deleting theses Recovered Records, does NOT seem to prevent it from happening again (when you do a recovery to the Recovered file).

So Any insigh into this is highly appreciated. Also; I have read a lot that one should not use a recovered file, and you should make every attempt to use files that have not been through a recovery process.

By the way, saving a Compact Copy; has in use in this situation. tried it, and it did not change a thing.

Thanks for the help

Edited by Guest

But why are you doing this in the first place? Why run the recover command at all, especially since you seem to be generating problems for yourself? Did you run Save Compacted in FM8.5, NOT FM9, before opening in FM9?