Beginner - Need insight on code...

firkus

This topic is 5957 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Cliffnotes version of my situation.

I'm a filemaker NOVICE...

Outsourced filemaker application development to external company. In the last couple of days the sole developer for this small company has gone AWOL. The Filemaker server is located in our office and we fear that we may not have access to the code and application that we paid for.

If I install Filemaker Pro Advanced will I be able to view the scripts that he has created? From a user standpoint everything is custom menu driven, so the script toolbar isn't even available. He has sent us a couple of plugins which we have applied on our machines in the past, so what would I need to do to view that custom code too.

I appreciate any insight that can be provided, because we are fearful that we paid all of this money for something that we can not modify. I'm sure I need to provide a lot more information, but I'm not even sure where to start.

It really depends on the permissions you have. If you have the actual database on your server that's good, but to do development work you'll need a user name and password that gives you Full Access.

With your current access can you Enter Layout Mode, Define Databases, and access Scriptmaker? If not, Advanced won't help you, you'll need the developer level account access.

• Newbies

We don't seem to be able to view those areas that you mentioned.

So at this point it looks like we might be in a tough situation. Without the admin user and password I'm thinking we won't have the ability to update our privileges. I know, our fault for not being a little more proactive on the rights to the application. VERY Bad move on our part.

Is the application code/scripting itself stored in the database file?