Using value list to make field appear

NikkiS

This topic is 6088 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi, I'm a newbie and just beginning to learn about scripting in FM.

I have about 63 fields that I would like to use a value list to pull up, so that we don't need to scroll through them all to find the one we need.

Basically, would like one field that contains the value list, and the one next to it would then populate with the field requested.

Are there any suggestions?

Let me restate...just to see if we're on the same page. You have 63 records that each have a different value in a field. For example, in the table, "States" in the field Name, in the first record you have "Alabama," in the second record, "Alaska", etc. for fifty records.

I'm confused by one field contains the value list and the next field uses it? Typically, a value list is created from the contents of one field in a table, and then is used to populate another field in another table. My suggestion, read about value lists in the online help.

First off is Barbara making a nice subtle hint to you relational structure, 63 fields requiring the same valuelist needs to get split up into separate records.

Secondly doesn't it have much to do with the scripting you initiated your message with!

What you apparently are after is a way to strain the valuelist down to a certain focus or scope to prevent the user waste time getting the desired value. The topic as such is called dynamic valuelists, and includes some sort of relational definition or a vast amount of layout trickery which never can be generalized.

I would therefore strongly suggest to take the plunge into the relational definition of a valuelist, as well as getting a firm grip on the relational approach, which your post revealed you were slightly stranger to.

You should never be impressed by the cute and clever ways to deal with such matters, you need to understand what's going on!

--sd