Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Field relationship between databases?

Booyah

This topic is 6001 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I hope I can ask this question in a manner that makes sense as I am brand new to FM. I have 2 existing databases. I am trying to modify them so they will communicate with each other. When I enter a number in a specific field, I need that same data to be entered into a coresponding field in a different database. Is this even possible? Thanks, in advance, for your effort.

Yes, it is pretty simple to create relationships between databases.

1. Define file reference (so one database will know where the other is located)

2. Define the relationship between the two tables of interest (Define database > Relationships)

3. Place the related field on the layout of the related table.

That's it!

I hope I can ask this question in a manner that makes sense as I am brand new to FM. I have 2 existing databases. I am trying to modify them so they will communicate with each other. When I enter a number in a specific field, I need that same data to be entered into a coresponding field in a different database. Is this even possible? Thanks, in advance, for your effort.

We need to know more details; but no, it's not possible; and most likely it is not even a good idea.

In databases the general idea is - with certain exceptions - to have ONE location for a piece of information but be able to see it in other locations. Copying information from one location to another is a recipe for data disaster - the data gets out of sync.

Please provide more detail about what you are trying to do.