Server Maintenance This Week. ×

VBScript to write data to FM database?

This topic is 5819 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi everyone, new to FM and new to here.

We run a mixed installation of Mac and Windows computers in a Tiger server OD with a SAMBA domain.

My Mac engineer colleague has got ARD to put data about the Macs into a FM asset database, such as serial number, mac address etc...

I use a tool called BGINFO to do the same to an access database on a share on the server.

I have a vbscript logon script which maps drives and executes bginfo and does other things.

My question is.... how easy is it to add a bit of vbscript to take some WMI data and write it to fields in the FM asset table?

I would obviously have to query the database first to check if the workstation exists if not write a whole new record otherwise update the existing record.

Has anyone tried this and would be willing to share some sample code for me to work on?

What options do I need to check in filemaker to make sure the vbscript can connect?

Thanks

Paul

This saved as a .vbs will look for a filemaker file, copy it to a local path, and execute a script.

'Creates Filemaker object

Set objFM = WScript.CreateObject ("FMPRO.Application")

'Creates File System Object

Set fs = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

'Check if the file exists

If fs.FileExists("C:local pathFM_File.fp7") then

'nothing

Else

'Copy File to Local Computer

fs.CopyFile "network pathFM_File.fp7", "C:local pathFM_File.fp7"

Wscript.Sleep 2000

End If

Set objFMfiles = objFM.Documents.Open("C:local pathFM_File.fp7","admin","") 'open FM file   (filename,username,password)

objFMfiles.DoFMScript ("Import") ' call this FM script

Wscript.Sleep 1000

WshShell.AppActivate "FileMaker Pro"

WScript.DisconnectObject(fs)

WScript.DisconnectObject(objFM)

WScript.Quit(1)

Couple of notes about doing this: