Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Filemaker Server on a Virtual Server and Other Questions

This topic is 3188 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

I'm a filemaker newbie. I have Filemaker Server 9.0. I have 3 questions:

1. I read in a book that Filemaker Server needs to run in its own machine, which mean no other services can run on it to prevent data corruption. Is this true?

2. Can I run Filemaker Server on a virtual machine if the VM meets all the hardware requirements?

3. If I go with the VM route and then later down the road I purchase an actual machine, what is the migrating process from the VM to the actual new machine?

Make no mistakes - RUN FMS ON IT'S OWN MACHINE.

Why buy the book and then ignore the advice - wasn't that what you bought the book for?

As for a virtual machine - is the virtual machine a process/application? I think so!

I'm obviously not ignoring the advice from the book. I'm posting this question to confirm. The book 'recommends' that FMS is to be ran in its own environment. I thought maybe that is one opinion from one source.

Economy is bad, budget tightens, projects still have deadlines, we have to weigh out which risk is worth taking.

I'm baffled at the arogance of the guys at Ideal Data. The FileMaker manual doesn't mention multilpe forms of relational data strucutres, nor does it mention separating data from interface but FileMaker both these topics can greatly improve your FileMaker solutions.

I have run FileMaker 7/8/9 in virtualized environments with no issues for several years, and on several boxes. Not does it work, but there are some advantages....

1. VMware virtual machines (using ESX) can be clustered over multiple machines to provide fault tolerance much greater performance.