Server Maintenance This Week. ×

CJinMadison

This topic is 4816 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

To whom it may concern:

I'm brand new to this community. (Just joined this morning.) And, this is my first post.

Also (to make it challenging) I am relatively new to FileMaker. I've worked with MS Access for 10+ years.

So, I have created a table that lists Inspectors (people).

I have a field in that table called "Active". The allowable values for that field are "Y" or "N".

I am currently using this table as the source of values for a Value List. And, I am using this value list to populate a drop-down field in another form.

All of this (that I've described above) works just fine right now.

What I'd like to do is this: Some how train the value list to only select/display the values from the Inspectors table, WHERE ACTIVE = "Y". (Because I don't want my end user seeing a drop-down list that shows inactive inspectors.)

Thoughts? Any suggestions about how I can/should do that?

Thank you.

Cliff in Madison, WI

Hi Cliff,

Welcome to FM and the forum.

Using a value list to populate a foreign key is a common technique. However, your choice of drop-down list is not recommended, as drop-down lists show the foreign key ID and not the much more user-friendly Inspector name. The preferred method is to use a popup menu since it allows you to hide the ID and just show a corresponding text value. However, if the popup menu gets too long, a popup selector window is used.

Limiting the value list to just "active" Inspectors requires an addtl field in the People table, flag_Active

Here's a demo of a filtered popup select that I've modified to include your need of only seeing active contacts.

PopupSelectNew2.fp7 2.zip

To whom it may concern:

I'm brand new to this community. (Just joined this morning.) And, this is my first post.

Also (to make it challenging) I am relatively new to FileMaker. I've worked with MS Access for 10+ years.