Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Loop through all records and act on specific value in field

Dextar

This topic is 4816 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I need to implement a server side script that runs every minute and loops through all records of a table (in this case "Invoices") and if it encounters a certain value in a certain field runs various commands followed by a shell script.

I have tried all sorts of combinations using Loop but I am new to FM scripting and I can't make it work, I am sure for you it's an easy task but how do I go about it so that it starts from the first record and then loops to the last?

Thanks!

Rather than looping thru all records, couldn't the first step be to perform a Find for the records that have "the certain value?" Then loop thru that found set.

The basic loop structure is:

Go to Rec First

Loop

do something

Go to Rec Next (Exit after Last)

End Loop

So, what does your script look like? You can print it to pdf and upload it here.

I need to implement a server side script that runs every minute and loops through all records of a table (in this case "Invoices") and if it encounters a certain value in a certain field runs various commands followed by a shell script.

I have tried all sorts of combinations using Loop but I am new to FM scripting and I can't make it work

What part doesn't work? The looping or the execution of the shell script?

Am I understanding correctly that you have "script sequence" schedule? A schedule that first runs a FileMaker script and when that is done, a shell script?

Hi Guys, thanks for your replies and sorry for the delay, but as so often another project from a "much more important client"tm got in the way...

Anyway, I exported the script and attached it to this post.