Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Alternatives to FileMaker Go for native iPad app?

This topic is 4608 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello esteemed experts! :-)

I am a relative newbie to FileMaker, but a database expert (in general) with other similar products. I was turned on to FM by a client who showed me a database of theirs running on their iPad using FileMaker Go, and I was very impressed. Since then, I have been investigating FM quite a bit for possible future projects.

One knowledge area where I feel I'm lacking is that there appears to be a way to create a standalone iPad app around a FileMaker database, without requiring the purchase of FileMaker Go. Yet when I search for this technique/option, I keep striking out. I feel like my inexperience with FileMaker is resulting in me asking the wrong questions; as if I would only phrase the question correctly, then I'd find the tools/products/approach I'm looking for. Hence my question here.

From what I've been able to google and read about in these forums, there are four ways to get a FM database onto the iPad:

1) Online connection (requires an internet connection) to a FM Server-hosted FM database

2) Buy and install FM Go on the iPad, then transfer my FM database to the iPad and use it there

3) Buy and install FMTouch on the iPad, then transfer my FM database to the iPad and use it there

4) Use FMTouch Enterprise to convert my FM database into a standaloneiPad app

#1 isn't going to work for my customers because they will frequently be using it in situations where no internet connection exists. Syncing is a pain and hassle, besides.