Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Creating a Runtime - File Link Issue

cherrybomb

This topic is 4522 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello All,

This is my first time creating a runtime so I am quite the novice. I am using Filemaker Pro Advanced 10.

What i had to begin with was about 10-12 filemaker 3 files (some aptly named .old and others without an extension at all) that I converted to the .fp7 format. I now want to create a runtime exe that will allow me to run the converted files.

I do so but then when I try to run the executable it is saying it cannot find mainmenu.old. That doesnt make sense since I converted all the files to the .fp7 format.

Is there some hardcoding of the old filenames held somewhere? If so, where is it held and where can I go to update the file references to point to the new names.

At what point in the process would i update this: prior to building the runtime with the .fp7 names or after when the are .USR?

Any information would be greatly appreciated. Please let me know if you need any more info from me that I might have left out.

Thank you

Did the converted program run in FMP 10 before you created the runtime? That is where you would resolve path and relationship errors. Odds are you have a script that still calls mainmenu.old. After it runs in Filemaker you can compile it into a runtime.

So are you saying then that I should try to run the program in FMP 10? By that, do you mean opening up mainmenu.fp7, and all the other converted files? If I was to open up mainmenu.fp7, it will then say that it cannot find clients.old. Do i then direct it to client.fp7? Will that resolve the file linking issue? Just by opening it up? Or do I have to save anything?

Is there any way to actually physically see the file linking thats occurring and manually change it?

First, open File->Manage->External Data Sources and make sure that all your .fp7 files are listed there.