Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Per User Preference Table

AZ_Tech

This topic is 4248 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am at a bit of a loss here, I am a novice with Filemaker and could really use some help from anyone that can point me in the right direction. I program a fair amount but normally use a program called Topspeed against a MSSQL database. The way Filemaker does things is a bit foreign to me. What I am trying to dois create a teacher evaluation system for a district and what I need or would like to be able to do is this. When a principal connects I would like them to only see the current year data and also only the data the applies to their school building. Normally with my normal enviornment I would create a configuration file that they would pull up and set the year and the school. Then each time the user would log in that file would load the values into global variables that would be used to filter the data. But with filemakers relationship structure I am at a loss to come up with a good way to do this. I know its because I have a small brain! :logik: Any suggestions or docs that could enlighten me would be really great. I have pawed through the forumns but haven found anything specific, that maybe because I am a bit unfamiliar with the terminology so I apologize if this has been answered. Thanks for any help.

I'll try to point you in the right direction:

1. Security is where you limit a user's edit/view of data by Record Level Access rules (RLA).

2. Find is another method to create "found sets" of records.

3. Setting global fields and using the global field in the left side of a relationship allows you to filter the records visible in the child table.

Your data model will dictate what combination of the above you use.

What is your data model?