total for only specific records

This topic is 3603 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi

I have created a database that monitors extras needed for scenes. I have managed to generate a report that will work out the totals of adults and the totals of children, but I am struggling to get it to work so it adds up the numbers for just a certain unit. If I search for a unit say 2nd unit, it will still only show up the two units combined so adds main and 2nd unit. I have tried several things but cannot seem to get it to work. The report I am trying to get it to work on is the one liner copy. I would like to be able to add up say the totals for adults and then kids then both combined just for that unit and show that, so I can work out the costs for each unit separately, rather then as one whole.

I hope this makes sense, I am very very new to Filemaker pro and a huge novice, so any help is very much appreciated in helping me be able to achieve this.

Thanking you in advance

Sarah

Crowd (8th edit) Copy.fmp12.zip

EOS

Thank you for the reply, I had a look at the file you sent, which was very much appreciated, Alas this would not work for us. For example next month I have 191 of the same character, it would be very painful and pointless to type out the character name 191 times. Also it wouldn't allow me to solve the problem of seeing numbers just for one type of unit. However, your help was very much appreciated that you looked at the file and sent an example you thought would help me with my problems. Thank you very much.

Sarah –

glad you liked it, but I'm afraid you missed the point. It's not about how you enter the data for the scenes – how you take care of that is another matter. For my demo I just needed some sample data and chose a manual method that works for a small number of related records.