Server Maintenance This Week. ×

problems accessing url

This topic is 8329 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am just starting out with Custom Web Publishing, know a bit of HTML and understand a very, very little bit of CDML. I have set my home page up using the Web Companion dialog box in FM. On that I have a link to a page where a user can enter information. The link works fine, but when I try to enter info and hit the add record button, I get a message saying the browser can't access FM on my harddrive. I have the file open.

The code I used to link the page (so that FM would recognize it) was:

<FORM ACTION="file:///Macintosh HD/FileMaker Pro 5.5 Folder/Web" METHOD="POST">

<a href="FMPro?-db=mtg_info.fp5&-format=next_mtg.html&-findall">Next Meeting</a>

</form>

And the code I used on my linked page, to enter the information and submit it, was:

<FORM ACTION="file:///Macintosh HD/FileMaker Pro 5.5 Folder/Web" METHOD="POST">

<input type="hidden" name="-db" value="mtg_info.fp5">

<input type="hidden" name="-lay" value="basicinfo">

<input type="hidden" name="-format" value="woohoo.html">

<input type="hidden" name="-error" value="dagonit.html">

<P>Name: <input type="text" name="firstname" size=20></P>

<P>Best Months to meet: <input type="text" name="months" size=20></P>

<P>What you want to bring: <input type="text" name="food" size=20></P>

<P>suggestions: <input type="text" name="suggestions" size=50></P>

<P><input type="submit" name="-New" value="Add Record"></P>

</FORM>

Sorry for the long post. I am not sure where to go from here! frown.gif" border="0

The form action must be an http reference. Assuming everything else is properly configured and you have an internet connection, use your machine's IP and change your form action to:

<FORM ACTION="http://XXX.XX.XX.XX/FMPro" METHOD="POST">

• Newbies