Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Check Boxes and Values

dbbreaker

This topic is 3539 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hey everyone

I am a newbie feeling my way around Filemaker Pro 13.  I got a database I am working on and I need some help with something.

What I want to be able to do is have a number of check boxes with labels next to them and whenever I put a check in the box it will add digit one to another field on the same layout adding up as each time it's checked.

So for example, having students who come and attend a class I want to track how many times they came to class by clicking that checkmark.  Having it add the number of times I checked the box, totaling the days.

Hope I've explained it clearly enough.  Thank for your help!

Post a copy or mockup of your file. Heres is a link that explains how to ATTACH A FILE.

BTW, some additional information about what you are trying to accomplish would be helpful.

Such as reports.

Are you interested in knowing the dates of attendance?

Can a Student attend the same class more then once a day?

How often are you wanting to see the numbers? Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, semiannually, yearly?

I'd imagine you'd want a table of students and a related table for attendance. You'd click a button on the student record and it would create a related attendance record. This could include a date field too. Then you'd have a few options for displaying the total attendance, e.g. in the student table you'd have a calculated field: Count( attendance::ID )

whenever I put a check in the box it will add digit one to another field on the same layout adding up as each time it's checked.