Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Question re who is behind this web site and other

This topic is 3393 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm relatively new to FM, and have received a lot of amazing feedback from some amazing people -- including all the moderators -- regarding my incessent beginner oriented questions. Who "runs" this web site? I ask because right now I'm contributing a meager $5 or $10 per quarter to assist in running the web site, but am toying with increasing that substantially. Do you guys break even, etc?

I will let Stephen answer this question but I know how you feel.  I had extensive database training, relational theory, mainframe before discovering FM but if it wasn't for this forum, it would have been a difficult task.  FM does not operate like any other tools I had used in the past.  My first web search for a cross-compatible program brought me here by chance (for a new client which needed x-plat design) and I've stayed ever since.  I read other FM forums as well but my heart is here.

Most of us continue to assist those who are new (right up to advanced) to pay it forward.  We also continue to learn, stay up on techniques, watch for unexpected behaviors and bugs, and keep our skills honed.  Interacting here allows us to fine-tune our skill set in deciphering a user's questions, formulating responses etc ... all critical tools for consultation, project management, interpreting User needs, and working with clients and their staff.

FMForums is a resource I'm thankful for every single day.

• Like 1

I definitely try to pay it forward whenever I can with tips that perhaps others can use . . . . but at the end of the day, I'm not sure how much I can contribute! I get excited when I think I can post intelligently to help someone out, but it always seems that the solution I propose is less than optimal in many respects.

but it always seems that the solution I propose is less than optimal in many respects.