Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Which forum for seeking help on Virtual List Sidebar?

Rick Horowitz

This topic is 3356 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I don't want to waste time and irritate someone. I'm having trouble figuring out if there's a certain forum where a question about the Virtual List Sidebar might be posted. I'm new here, and wondering if this "General" group is a place to ask for such help, or if I should be going to a specific section of the Forums. 

Thanks. 

--

Rick Horowitz

Filemaker N00b (but with experience on other areas of programming)

Thanks. I have a subscription for ISO Filemaker, so I've been able to watch the full video. I've watched it so much that I have parts of it nearly memorized verbatim, and yet I can't figure this out. 

If I leave out anything necessary just let me know; I am new to Filemaker. (Years ago, when Claris had it, I wrote a program to handle some aspects of a business I had then, but after that I've had no contact with Filemaker until quite recently.) 

PROBLEM: 

After copying everything over from the example file, and tweaking the appearance, conditional formatting, and scripts to get thing looking the way I want, I have the Virtual List Sidebar (VLS) appearing to do all that it's supposed to do. I've changed the menu to have different sections, added parts, and it all expands/contracts, and moves between layouts just like it's supposed to do. If I expand a part, or all, of the menu, and click a menu item to go to another layout, it goes there, and the menu bar keeps the appearance that it had on the prior layout, so that it looks like the only thing that changed is the content outside the portal that makes up the VLS.