FM 13 sub summary can not be 'restricted' by find ?

ron G

This topic is 3292 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a membership application.  (Let me put up front, that I have been developing this app for several years and initially I made a mistake in the design by separating my Candidates table from my Members table... too late now)

Each candidate has a member that 'coaches' him.  This name is put in the Candidates::Coach field.  It is a popup that get's it's value list from Members::cLast_First_MI.  This works well.

The table structure is:

Candidates::KF>--------------Members::KP

I have a report that sub summaries all the 'Coaches' and shows all their 'Candidates'

(The layout/report doesn't change if it is based on Members or Candidates.)

post-72145-0-05459000-1426832753_thumb.p

post-72145-0-65966700-1426832766_thumb.p

post-72145-0-28978900-1426832777_thumb.p

The problem is that if I put the field Members::ACTIVEInactive on the sub summary, it always shows the ActiveInactive status of the top most Candidate.  I want it to show the ActiveInactive status of the Coach  (whose name is located in the Member table).  Do I need to do a lookup?  Is there an ExecuteSQL solution ?

Thanks

Ron

I couldn't understand this remark:

(The layout/report doesn't change if it is based on Members or Candidates.)

You are describing a one-to many relationship where one member can coach many candidates. A report summarizing candidates by coach needs to be produced from the Candidates table. The data describing the candidate goes into the body part of the layout, and the (related) data describing the coach goes into a leading sub-summary (when sorted by Candidates::Coach) part. Your screenshots aren't clear enough for me to tell what you have and how different it is from what I have just described. I am also not sure what this has to do with finding.

Right.