Is this Relationship Diagram Right?

FMBeginner

This topic is 3191 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

Can anyone help me please? I am very new to FileMaker. In the first image is a sketch of what I am trying to achieve. In the second image is how I have tried to solve the many to many relationships in FileMaker. As there are a couple of repeated table occurrences I feel a bit nervous that I have done it incorrectly. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you. 

RD SS.png

Screen Shot 2015-08-22 at 00.04.02.png

• Newbies

To explain further:

category needs to be able to have many documents, and/or products and/or contacts. It will always have at the very least, either one document, product or contact.

eg: category record "Utilities" might have many contacts, many documents but no products

A document won't always have a contact but it will always have at least one category, if not more. 

product might have a number of documents but not necessarily. It will ALWAYS have at least one category, possibly more. It won't ever have a Contact.

At least show a real, correct graph with the actual keys you are using.

That graph is impossible.

E.g. show PK_product connected to line items fk_product.

Edited by BruceR

• Newbies

OK so thanks to Bruce kindly pointing out I was making no sense, I've revised things a bit and I really hope now that I'm at least beginning to create a correct Relationships Diagram.

The image shows the Relationship Diagram. Please can anyone tell me if I'm even close to creating something that is correct? 

This is how I'd like CATEGORIES to relate to DOCUMENTS, CONTACTS and PRODUCTS:

A CATEGORY will always have either a PRODUCT, a CONTACT or a DOCUMENT. It might have more than one, but not always. It won't always have all three.