Server Maintenance This Week. ×

ERD help - Order Entry system to track commissions

This topic is 3859 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I'm a FileMaker newbie, attempting to build a database to track invoices & payments for a food broker. I can find plenty of information on straight invoicing, but here's my issue - because this is a brokerage, I have both prinicipals (the suppliers) and customers - we are the middle men. (We work with roughly a dozen principals and over a hundred customers) The principals invoice the customers directly, and we are paid a commission (usually monthly but this varies from principal to principal). What I am trying to create is a database where we can generate POs  (pulling from both a Principals and a Customers table), pull from Items table (description, cost, price, etc), and track to confirm that we are paid the correct commission (again, rates vary by principal) at the end of the month. So, an order entry system basically. I do not need to track inventory at all. I am stuck on even getting an ERD on paper, what I'm imagining looks something like: Customers -<PO>-Principals and PO-<LineItems>-Products. Does this seem right to you FileMaker gurus out there?

I first attempted modifying the Invoices Starter Solution in FM12 but can't seem to make that work.

Complicating matters is the fact that the cost of items changes almost weekly and customers are invoiced by the cost at the time they placed their order, however if I read the UserGuide correctly I should be able to achieve this by using a Lookup, correct?

I'm also trying to decide whether to have a seperate Contacts table with info and join that to both Principals and Customers, rather than duplicate a lot of fields such as Phone, City, etc.