Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Show the latest version

Mike_FM

This topic is 1168 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I have created a portal in a related table and I want to apply a filter to it so that it only shows the latest versions from a found set of records and to hide the others. There is a related field within the portal called 'scan version' which displays the version number as eg 'v001' 'v002' 'v003' etc

I've been hunting around online to find a calculation that fits my needs and have played around with the 'Max' function but to no avail

If anyone can give me some pointers that would be awesome, I'm still very new to this and learning so any help is always appreciated!

If you need any more info please let me know

Thanks

I have just worked this out and used the following calculation

Scans::Scan Versions = Max ( Scans::Scan Versions )

and it worked!

Ah yes, apologies calling it a found set is a mistake and also upon further testing the calculation: Scans::Scan Versions = Max ( Scans::Scan Versions ) doesn't quite work for what I need.

Diving in a little deeper...

I have two tables in my database; 1 called Counts and 1 called Scans and they are related using a match field called VFX_ShotCode (Counts table is the parent and Scans is the child)

Within the scans table I have created a field called 'scan filename' and it contains the names of all the scans in my project; they all follow this naming convention-

episode#_scene#_shot#_scantype&#_version#) - an example would be 101_010_0010_bg01_v001

I also have a field within the Scans table called Scan Versions which I contains a calculation that cyphens off the 'v001' of the scan filename.

I have created a portal in the Counts table to show this related scan data and as it currently stands, when I am in the Counts Table and on the record with VFX_ShotCode '101_010_0010', the following related scan data is displayed 

101_010_0010_bg01_v001