Newbie: Reports & summing data from multiple tables

This topic is 1048 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello!

I'm a newbie, sorry! Wondering if anyone could help with advice on how to go about generating reports based on data from multiple tables in Filemaker Pro. Or point me in the right direction if there is information online about this already.

Description of the problem: let's say Table 1 is the main table which includes (1) date of bank transaction; (2) debit amount; (3) credit amount; (4) account code (text). However, sometimes one bank transaction (whether it be debit/credit) needs to be split up in order to then associate it with more than one category code. From a layout which displays the data from Table 1, have set up using a pop-up button visible in each row, a portal to linked data in Table 2. The Table 2 can then display multiple rows of (1) debit amount; (2) credit amount; and (3) category code,  for any one bank transaction in Table 1.

The difficulty I now have is how to generate reports that display the total debits/credits/account codes based on information coming from both Table 1 and Table 2. e.g., Table 1 might have $1000 deposits in total associated with the FRN account code. And Table 2 might have a total of $500 deposits associated with the FRN account code. How do I set up one report to display the overall amount for FRN to be $1500?  I have reports that are already set up to display summaries, overall totals, and subtotals of the information from Table 1, but I now would like to find a way to add the information from Table 2.

Is this possible? If so, could anyone explain how to do this? Or is there a better way to structure the database to make this reporting easier?