Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Help wanted with invoicing solution

This topic is 6765 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am having to tackle a big project on a tight time schedule - restructuring an invoicing/payment system. It is for myself (small business) and I am not a developer. I have gone as far as I can with the current system and have read enough on these forums to know I have to change it - I'm just not sure how to start.

I wondered if anyone has any sample files or can point me at a very basic solution that I can pull apart and use as a basis for starting from scratch. I envisage it would have a file for customers, another for services/products, an invoice file and a payments file - or something along those lines anyway. The term "line items" is used a fair bit in discussions but I don't really know what these refer to.

Any recommendations at all would be appreciated.

Thanks, Murray

Hi Murray,

Line Items, as far as invoicing goes, refers to the part of the invoice that lists products sold/rented/whatever. For example, when you go get your car worked on, the invoice will show a list of all the parts that were used and the cost for each part. In a relational db model, there is a seperate file that is used for these entries. These re grouped together via an invoice ID. On your invoice layout, you'd have a portal to the line items file that would show all the line item that apply to the invoice.

Try this:

http://collection.filemaker.com/collection/search_details.jsp?serial=0001

or this:

http://www.fmfiles.com/enduserbus1.html

One thing I'd add to John's post is that, while a portal to line items is ok for data entry and viewing an invoice, you generally want to print the invoice from the line items file -- unless your invoices are always short enough to fit on one page.