iTunes importing Time to FM

This topic is 6695 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

This may be really simple, but I am having a problem getting it to work right as I am still new to FM. I am trying to import an iTunes exported text file into a FM database I made. iTunes apparently exports the track Time as seconds. When I import it into FM I cannot get it to convert to minutes:seconds.

I have tried changing the Time format of the FM Time field, but that just changes the seconds into really weird numbers. Is there a calculation function I have to use?

Ex: I want 136 seconds to read as 2:16.

Thanks in advance.

Yes. The time field converted it perfectly when imported into a number. Because time is simply seconds and FM knows it. It's all part of FM's date engine (logic), right? Time is similar to DATE (now don't you laugh) because FM reads them as straight numbers (seconds are the finite level of Time and days are the finite level of Date). FM tracks this linear progression forward/back, adding and subtracting the pieces (month, hour, whatever) as straight numbers broken down into seconds or days). So FM CROSSES date/time boundaries correctly. Manipulating time fields will be same logic as:

dateField - Day(dateField) would produce the last day of the prior month so

timeField - (Minutes(timeField)+ Seconds(timeField)) would produce, ummmm, midnight? FM thinks military style, right? And it must work with timestamps as well!

Anyway my point is ... it's straight math. Time fields used to (almost) intimidate me. They don't any longer!! :wink2:

L

seconds are the finite level of Time and days are the finite level of Date

Almost - Filemaker does recognize fractional seconds.

timeField - (Minutes(timeField)+ Seconds(timeField)) would produce, ummmm, midnight?